User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 7 of 12

Thread: How to make a custom patch for you items DBC 3.3.5

  1. #1
    Exalted Member Syphex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sweden GMT + 1
    Posts
    297
    XP
    169,093
    Level
    105
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts

    How to make a custom patch for you items DBC 3.3.5

    In this tutorial, one will learn how to patch client-side changes. Examples include: items, and more! To begin, one will need certain programs.

    Programs Required:

    1. MPQEditor (http://www.zezula.net/en/mpq/download.html)
    2. MyDBCEditor (http://filebeam.com/8a6e4fcac86b573a95f2ef242194b671) (or Taliis (http://www.mediafire.com/download/s8...iis+latest.rar))


    This is really simple, and takes little to no effort.

    ITEMS

    1. Open Item.dbc with MyDBCEditor. It should look similar to what's below (unless you chose Taliis).


    http://i.imgur.com/goH0YJV.png

    2. If a custom item is added to the game, we're given the infamous red question mark display. To fix this, you must add the item to this DBC file.

    3. Insert a new row in the DBC file. Use the same ID as your item (it should already be unique).


    http://i.imgur.com/HhOduTW.png

    4. Your new row should should look like the one above (with the exception of the ID number).

    5. After adding the respective values to the other columns, which are found in the database, you can save the file. You can see my example below.


    http://i.imgur.com/lhds5Wi.png

    6. We've made our edits, now, we make a patch to display these changes in the client.



    MAKING THE PATCH

    1. Open MPQEditor and click "New MPQ."

    2. Name it whatever you want; within the limits below:


    patch-A to Z
    patch-4 to 9


    3. After creating it, you should see something similar to mine:


    http://i.imgur.com/NHubc7A.png

    4. Right-click on the workspace and select New Folder.

    5. Enter the name: DBFilesClient.

    6. Within that folder is where we will place our edited DBC files. Right-click and select Add File(s). Once done, it should look like mine:


    http://i.imgur.com/lMgbe1A.png

    7. Close the MPQEditor.

    8. Congratulations! You made some edits and made a patch! Pat yourself on the back! http://www.skype-emoticons.com/image...00126-nerd.gif

    9. Add this new patch to your World of Warcraft/data folder.

    Credits to Me, nerdgasm
    Last edited by Syphex; 12-12-2015 at 09:46 PM.
    Achievements:
    Member 1 year registered Level XL Level C

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Syphex For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Respected Member <span style='color: #FF0000'><span class='glow_000000'>Tok124</span></span>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    338
    XP
    3,700
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
    Nice guide ! But i prefer to convert dbc to csv and edit the csv in Notepad++ instead of using Taliis. And sometimes i make a database table from the csv. But everyone has their own way of making patches lol xD But your guide is probably the easyest way for beginners xD

    - - - Updated - - -

    And also. Just a tip. You should point out that its actually not needed to use MPQEditor to create patch. Its possible to just make a folder and call it patch-X.mpq and add folder DBFilesClient in that folder. That is very nice when testing new stuff. Most people don't know its possible to do it that way and there is no guide that includes this info :P But this should only be used when testing new stuff ofcourse

  4. #3
    Original Poster
    Exalted Member Syphex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sweden GMT + 1
    Posts
    297
    XP
    169,093
    Level
    105
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tok124 View Post
    Nice guide ! But i prefer to convert dbc to csv and edit the csv in Notepad++ instead of using Taliis. And sometimes i make a database table from the csv. But everyone has their own way of making patches lol xD But your guide is probably the easyest way for beginners xD

    - - - Updated - - -

    And also. Just a tip. You should point out that its actually not needed to use MPQEditor to create patch. Its possible to just make a folder and call it patch-X.mpq and add folder DBFilesClient in that folder. That is very nice when testing new stuff. Most people don't know its possible to do it that way and there is no guide that includes this info :P But this should only be used when testing new stuff ofcourse
    Could you give me a detailed guide on how you do that, It seems to be a much easier way of doing it.

  5. #4
    Respected Member <span style='color: #FF0000'><span class='glow_000000'>Tok124</span></span>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    338
    XP
    3,700
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphex View Post
    Could you give me a detailed guide on how you do that, It seems to be a much easier way of doing it.
    You mean to use folder instead of using MPQ Editor?

    Well. It is more easy indeed.
    I will tell you step by step
    1. Navigate to wow folder > data
    2. Make a folder in data folder. Name the folder patch-X.mpq (X = A-X/0-9)
    3. Open patch-X.mpq folder and make a new folder inside that folder. Name the new folder DBFilesClient
    4. Place your edited dbc file inside DBFilesClient folder.
    5. Now you should restart the server and ur finished

    Keep in mind tho to only use it for testing. And when you want to release a patch you should make it into a real mpq patch.

    I use this method when i make 3D models and import to wow because sometimes the model is too big when i import then i need to scale it down and add the new files to patch. After that i dont even need to restart the server. All i have to do is to add my new files in the patch folder and relog and the model is then resized. I learned this method from Anthonys-Toolbox
    Last edited by Tok124; 06-01-2015 at 11:40 AM.
    Achievements:
    Shopper 1 year registered Referrer Got a Sticky! Level XV

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tok124 For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Original Poster
    Exalted Member Syphex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sweden GMT + 1
    Posts
    297
    XP
    169,093
    Level
    105
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tok124 View Post
    You mean to use folder instead of using MPQ Editor?

    Well. It is more easy indeed.
    I will tell you step by step
    1. Navigate to wow folder > data
    2. Make a folder in data folder. Name the folder patch-X.mpq (X = A-X/0-9)
    3. Open patch-X.mpq folder and make a new folder inside that folder. Name the new folder DBFilesClient
    4. Place your edited dbc file inside DBFilesClient folder.
    5. Now you should restart the server and ur finished

    Keep in mind tho to only use it for testing. And when you want to release a patch you should make it into a real mpq patch.

    I use this method when i make 3D models and import to wow because sometimes the model is too big when i import then i need to scale it down and add the new files to patch. After that i dont even need to restart the server. All i have to do is to add my new files in the patch folder and relog and the model is then resized. I learned this method from Anthonys-Toolbox


    Yes Thank you

  8. #6
    Original Poster
    Exalted Member Syphex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sweden GMT + 1
    Posts
    297
    XP
    169,093
    Level
    105
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
    Also, i have a problem of my own, the stats i give the item won't show and doesn't work.

    Also i can make items out of plate, but if i make it leather it's still a Red Error.

  9. #7
    Respected Member <span style='color: #FF0000'><span class='glow_000000'>Tok124</span></span>'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    338
    XP
    3,700
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
    To make a Leather Item make sure class is set to 4 and subclass is set to 2
    And when editing item.dbc make sure you set class 4 and subclass 2 in the dbc too.

    No idea why your stats wont show up. I feel this is going out of the topic :p I think its better if you make a support thread about it and i will do my best to help you :)

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Tok124 For This Useful Post:


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •