View Full Version : what set of hardware u recommend for a server?

08-04-2013, 12:50 PM
what set of hardware u recommend for running a server with about 1k online players and 2 realms? obviously trinitycore :P

i didnt find a better section to post this :P
sorry mods if its not the right place!

08-06-2013, 01:20 PM
Not quite sure maybe Tommy will read this (he`s way experienced with this stuff)

08-10-2013, 02:47 PM
Interesting question.. I have hosted many servers over the past few years . A preamium hosting service is your first step two tigs of bandwith a month 8 gigs ram i5 or i7 quad core processer.. can handle pretty much whatever.. K nowing what i know about hosting you will pay anywhere from 60.00 a month to 150.00 depending in were you get your hosting from.
I pays to have asosiates that specialize in hosting.. Good luck.. :)

08-10-2013, 03:31 PM
It's not so much the question of hardware, your server needs to have a good connection to it. Upload speed
makes all the difference when running servers for WoW. I agree with Ikester above, 8gigs of ram, i5/i7 would
do you nicely.

Far as the connection, if you have 1k players online on a regular basis then you should at least have a minimum
100Mbps line. If you experience lag or plan to grow, you will need to go a step up and grab yourself a gigE line/server.

A lot of it depends on what you run on your server, like if you have events where the entire 1k population all
groups up into one area to PVP (for example), then you might have some issues.

08-10-2013, 06:11 PM
It also depends on the core you use as well. TrinityCore is a rip from Mangos and Mangos can't hold their playerbase. Who knows though, it might go well.

08-11-2013, 12:03 AM
Yeah, your connection speed will bottleneck much more quickly than your hardware. Choosing Linux as your OS should reduce some strain on the server as well if I'm remembering things correctly.

08-23-2013, 08:03 AM
My recommendations:

Realm Server:
4xHDD/SSD in Raid 1+0.
24Gig RAM Should be enough
CPU: Xnenon e5 will be OK.
Connection: 2x teamed NICs (never use broadcom). 1gbit link.

4xSSD in RAID 1
12GB ram will be good
CPU: Lets choose again E5
Connection: 100Mbit will be ok while it will work only in LAN


4xHDD/SSD in Raid 1+0.
12GB ram is ok
Connection: Same as server configuration


No matter of the HDD just backup it weekly
8GB is enought
Average CPU
4xNIC teamed in active/backup mode 1gbit connection
Good OS and well configured firewall ruleset i would recoomend OpenBsd with PacketFilter as its stateful firewall.

Good Luck!

08-23-2013, 03:37 PM
Dude.. those specs are a bit extreme for a server that would just be starting..

08-24-2013, 09:30 AM
He said 2 realms with 1k. Those specs will work for 2k+ very good. Actually this configuration may hold even 4k+, but is always good to have good hardware already running instead of migrating to better hardware only when is needed.

08-25-2013, 07:18 PM
What I run with currently is:

64GB Ram
3.3GHz Quad core (Not so sure about this)
1GB internet

It may be overkill but atleast there's no lag. It's not that expensive and if you buy from OVH you can get like 32gb ram for 50$ or so.

08-26-2013, 08:48 AM
64RAM is too much. If he run linux as a OS, it wont use even 16gb of the ram.

08-26-2013, 01:45 PM
64RAM is too much. If he run linux as a OS, it wont use even 16gb of the ram.

It might be overkill, but there is no such thing as having too much RAM.

08-28-2013, 06:37 AM
Ok let say it like this: Its pointless and a waste of money to get 64 gig ram which you will never use.

08-29-2013, 08:58 AM
Run everything off the same machine for a start, as you grow you will have to learn about computing infrastructure yourself.
You wouldnt need something as good as this, you wouldn't even need half of it tbh, connection is important, as people tend to attack you a lot these days...