View Full Version : [SOLVED] Custom Mount

02-06-2016, 05:48 PM
Hey I am trying to make a custom mount in wow 3.3.5 trinitycore 335.58

I cloned an existing creature_template (black polar bear)
I cloned an existing item_template (black polar bear)

Updated the model id of the cloned creature template
In the item template I found it linked to a spell in the spell_dbc, but I cant find any link from the spell_dbc to the creature
Do I need to clone that spell it links to? If so what do I need to change in there to make that link to the creature_template that I want it to?
The value descriptions on https://trinitycore.atlassian.net/wiki/display/tc/spell_dbc#spell_dbc-Effect for this table are poor to say the least :P

Can anybody help? I don't want to simply update the modelID of an existing mount I want to make it a new item :P

02-06-2016, 06:02 PM
Looks like I had the wrong spellID from item_template, but the spellID I found which is the one from black polar bear has no linked spell in the spell_dbc -_-

02-06-2016, 06:28 PM
I wasn't able to decipher whether you fixed this or not but, here we go!

I don't know do you plan to add an actual new item, or use a existing item to replace the mount but in case you plan to create a mount from scratch, here we go:

(I'll use Crimson Deathcharger as an example here)
You'll want to make a new item. Easiest way is to copy an existing mount entry in your item_template and in my case, I'll clone the entry id 52200 and set its new entry ID to 60000. Rename the item to whatever you wish to call the mount.

Next up we're going to open creature_template and create a new creature which will be used as the mount display. Use whatever display, or clone any existing one. We're going to clone Crimson Deathcharger, which has the ID of 39046 and our new ID will be 90000.

Fire up your DBC Editor or use StoneHarry's spelleditor and load up the clone spellID 73313(which in this case, is the spell itself for the Crimson Deathcharger) and change it's Misc Value A to "90000" which is our creature id. You may also change it's icon, Spell Rank, Spell Name, Description and Tooltip accordingly.

Once you save your Spell.DBC, import it to your .MPQ client your game will be able to see the item.

I actually haven't tested whether it works simply by using world.spell_dbc because I do it this way to hardcode the items to the client and server. But my method should work, if you're willing to pass around custom patches.

If I was any confusing, just let me know, it's getting late. ;]

Copy item_template 52200 and set it to 60000.
Copy creature_template entry 39046 and set it to 90000.
Copy spell.dbc entry and set Misc Value A to 90000.

Save DBC file, upload it to the server and into your custom MPQ file.

Edit: http://www.pxr.dk/wowdev/wiki/index.php?title=Spell.dbc is probably the best documented site for dbc files. I have a tab open.. currently, twice. :-)

02-06-2016, 07:53 PM
Preferably I need a method without a spelleditor or mpqs, these spells aren't in the world spell_dbc idk where to find them

02-06-2016, 08:27 PM
You'll probably have to edit the Spell.DBC regardless for a custom mount, but now that I think twice I don't think you need to upload it client-side, just having it server-side SHOULD suffice. I think.

I'll do some testing in a minute, I'll report back to you asap - it's at least a better alternative to have it only done server-side instead of client-side as well.


These are the results. I've learned EmuDevs Mount Spell, along with Crimson Death Charger. Sadly, only CDS is present. However, once I apply spell.dbc to my client:
(I was too lazy to make a new entry with a new name, lol)

The mount appears. For custom spells to show up, they need to be present in the client. Your server controls what they do but the client needs it too to read it.

Sadly, this is the only method for a entire custom ID. You CAN however modify existing spell ID's that are perhaps unused server-wise and use those I believe?

I can't say for sure, but I know now for a fact that Spell.DBC editing is required 100% server-side, and for custom ID's client-wise.

Sorry to be a disappointment. :( But hey, at least I remembered something from this - it's been 9 years since I last did anything like this on wowd x_X

02-06-2016, 09:50 PM
Ok once I make the spell, save it and use export to spell.dbc (using stoneharrys spell editor)what else do I need to do exactly (never done this)

02-06-2016, 09:59 PM
Firstly, you have to create a NPC.
Make a new NPC (creature_template) with the desired displayID to act as your mount. On 335a it's name is also displayed in your mount book so make sure to change that too.

Then, create a mount item. You can clone any existing mount item(preferred, actually) and change any atributes you want. Entry ID, name and so forth. Once that's done, make sure to have spellid_1 set to 483 (it's the "learning" trait) and spellid_2 set to your new mount's ID. You can for now leave this at 0.

Last but not least, create a new spell. Find a mount spell (go to wotlk.openwow.com for instance, look up a mount and click the item's green text to be taken to the spell=xxxxx url). Once you have a spell id, press "New Spell" button and import existing -> set this spell ID you got from wotlk.openwow.com to the existing spell ID and your new unused ID as it's new ID).

Once you've created it, in the "Select Spell" tab click on your new spell and change the Spell name(this will be the name shown to others when hovering over buff) and spell description.

Navigate to Effects -> Effects 2 -> Spell Effect 1 and look for "Misc Value A"
http://i.imgur.com/LYATAql.png for reference.

Once you have that, change it to the new create entry ID you created in the first step. After that is done, save changes and export to spell.dbc

Lastly, we're going back to the item_template. Remember how we left "spellid_2" unused? In this field set the ID of your custom spell.

Save, place Spell.dbc into your custom MPQ's DBFilesClient\ folder and in your servers dbc folder and overwrite. Now when you launch the client and either add the item or learn the mount spell you'll see the mount in your spellbook. :)

If you have further questions or if I was being unclear, don't hesitate, I'll gladly attempt to help. I'd rather you attempt it yourself, but if all fails you can send me the desired displayid you wish to use and spell.dbc and I'll modify it for you. I have some spare time right now (taking a break from adding talents and content to my own project) but do try first yourself!

02-06-2016, 11:45 PM
Yeah no need to rewrite all the instructions it was just the spell.dbc i was unsure about from the start, thankyou for your help mate :P

02-09-2016, 10:43 AM
Good to know you got it fixed :)
I just wanted to make sure by re-writing it down - it's part of basic tech support that's been embedded in me <_<